Table of Contents

In this 209 page book, Laurie-Ann Weis reflects that, “We must reinvent ourselves and our lives to find a ‘new normal’ with a different joy.”

Part I: The Beginning

  • The Moment
  • The Truth about Grief
  • Anger
  • Ashes
  • Shrine
  • Alone in Bed
  • No More Hugs
  • Mail
  • Shopping for One
  • Cooking for One/Eating Alone
  • Changing Phone Machine Message
  • Music/Pictures/Television
  • Love Letters/Notes
  • Sundays
  • Spouses Personal Things

Part II: Venturing Out

  • Household Responsibilities
  • Wedding Rings
  • Walking Down a Crowded Street
  • Hearing or Seeing Spouses Name
  • Dreams
  • New Vocabulary: Widow
  • How Are You?
  • Coming Home to an Empty House

Part III: Social Consciousness

  • Invitations for One
  • Celebrations /Holidays/Birthdays
  • Social Life/Returning Alone

Part IV: Coping with the Legal Part of Life

  • Money

Part V: Growing into Singlehood

  • Home Improvement
  • Dating Again
  • Transitional Man
  • The Future

Part VI: Realities of Raising Children Alone

  • The Children

Part VII: “What I Know For Sure”

  • “What I Know For Sure”